Teresa Gallion’s Up—with Mitch on Guitar

Teresa Gallion, with her gift for contemplation and affinity for the natural world, is our feature for East of Edith Monday September 3rd. Come here. Come hear her.

Mitch Rayes will be joining her on guitar, one which he just fixed up, which is sounding good.

And as usual, we’ll have our regular open mic. That’s 7:00 pm at the Projects 3614 High Street NE.

I get to be the happy host, and I swear, I am not sure I’ll be able to resist sharing some Emerson for this one. Or perhaps the jisei poems I peruse. We’ll see tomorrow how the weather in the old brain fares.

This will also be your last chance to see the striking black and white photos and portraits Bob Warren snapped in Detroit in some of the M.U.R.C. heydays during the 60’s, a moving collection… (Mitch, another Detroiter, remembers MURC levels being reported on the news daily, much the way we get “pollen counts.” It stands for something like, Measure of Undesirable Respiratory Chemicals: Think gasmasks blossom.) The show has to come down to make way for a couple of nights of burlesque performances, and then soon, we’ll also be featuring some mutant root, and hoping for a visual something for that show…

Before the reading we’re going to try our second silent writing session–it is Labor Day, gonna do some! (See hankering #2). Last one, Benjamin Bormann and Bob Warren and I spent an hour of silence and writing. I read mine on the open mic. Gonna try again. One renowned typewriter fiend is supposed to join us… Anyone welcome. Doors open at 5:15. Silent writing/staring/mulling from 5:30-6:30. If I have my druthers, I’ll serve alphabet soup to the breadwinners on the break before the open mic starts…

All in all, a fully beautiful night is shaping up.

Teresa, who is also one of our tremendous team of hosts for this series, writes:

I became intimately acquainted with Rumi (13th century Sufi mystic and poet) over the past 12 years, sharing moments of quiet reading and reflection when one retreats from the tasks of daily living.  Rumi resonates with my heart and soul as I sit in my rocking chair at home, as I sit by my morning campfire, as I sit in a natural hot spring in the mountains, as I sit by a river gently flowing past, as I sit under a Juniper Tree in the middle of the winter desert.  No matter where I read Rumi, I am always inspired to write quatrains in response to the lyrics of wisdom that sing to me.  He makes me laugh and cry, stand in righteous indignation, tremor with ecstatic joy and sometimes I dance, especially at home.  All of these emotions flow into four line verses that respond to whatever touches me in that moment.

She will share some poems from her collection, Contemplation in the High Desert, as well as other new work. Teresa E. Gallion has lived in Albuquerque, NM since 1987.  She completed her undergraduate work at University of Illinois Chicago and her Masters Degree in Psychology from Bowling Green State University in Ohio.  Her work career has been with state government in Human Services in both Illinois and New Mexico.  She recently retired from the New Mexico Human Services Department.  (Congrats Teresa!!!) Her work has appeared in numerous Journals and Anthologies, most recently in Adobe Walls and Malpais Review.   She appears on the spoken word CD anthologies:  Leaving Eden, New Mexico State Poetry Society Anthology and Rio: A River Anthology.  She has a chapbook, Walking Sacred Ground and a CD, On the Wings of the Wind. Her most recent book is Contemplation in the High Desert (quatrains inspired by the poetry of Rumi).  The surreal high desert landscape and her personal spiritual journey influence the writing of this Albuquerque poet.  When she is not writing, she is committed to hiking the enchanted landscapes of New Mexico. You may preview her work at http://teresagallion.yolasite.com and don’t forget to check out her poetry on cdbaby.

Hope you can join us.

–lg

