Brooke at East of Edith Monday August 13th

Features at East of Edith continue, this week with what I’m sure will be a surprising set from Brooke von Blomberg. I’ve always enjoyed her work, its surprising turns, which I often heard in the context of slam venues. Lately I have seen growth from her efforts with the writing group La Palabra led by Jessica Helen Lopez. Want to hear more! Thus, she’s a feature.

As usual the open mic starts at 7:00 pm at the Projects, 3614 High Street NE, and somewhere in the middle of the open we interject the feature. Come out enjoy, read, listen…

I am hoping to be strong enough to host. Been gradually making a recovery and I have to thank many many people and the whole community for support in helping me through a rough summer. Bit by bit.

A little more about Brooke:

Watching Anis Mojgani and other electrifying performers at the 2005 National Poetry Slam inspired Brooke von Blomberg to start slamming herself. In 2010 she represented Albuquerque at the Women of the World Poetry Slam, and was a proud member of the 2011 Albuquerque City Slam Team that won the Group Piece Championship in Boston. Since March she has been a part of the La Palabra Writing Collective, a local organization dedicated to the empowerment of women through poetry and other arts. You can find Brooke’s poetry in the Adobe Walls Anthology, vol. 1, and in various piles around her living room.

I love the living room piles… I used to be able to walk around and step on manuscripts and say, this is the novel draft, this is this set of poems, this another…. my first submission cover letters said, “I’m submitting my poetry to your magazine because keeping it in my house is creating a fire hazard.” A epistolary technique I don’t recommend! For the letter. I do recommend the piles, which is nothing but as it should be.

–lg

