Our Own Private Blue Man at East of Edith Monday

I demand we feature Rich Boucher this Monday at 7 pm at East of Edith at the Projects. (Open mic before and after his set, 2 poem 4 minute limit). I make this demand for many reasons. Including the fact that he read me strange poetry and prose while I was sick. Including the fact that I was able to put him on a phone with a friend to talk RH factor, noah’s ark, and aliens, and he listened and laughed and was fabulous. Including perhaps the fact that he sometimes wears a scuba mask to readings and is intimate with puppets.  I demand this. I do. And look at the little “blueberry pie” poet? How endearing can you get?

 

Take Care of Yourself

 You’re eating your breakfast

by yourself now, the kids are already on the bus;

this is that time in the morning you usually have to yourself;

the Today show is on the TV in the other room;

you make almost no sound at the table

and you have no idea that I am with you.

 

You poke with your spoon at the bowl;

the last few frosted cornflakes lily-pad

beneath the surface of the milk;

you look over to the stack of bills

on the messy kitchen counter

and your eyes blink pink carnations into the room;

you have no idea that I am with you.

 

You finish the cereal

and sip coffee too weak to be of help;

you make steadying motions with your hands

as if to prepare yourself for the act of standing up

but you think twice about going to the window;

you would rather stay seated at the table

than go look outside to see

if today looks like the day I died.

 

I wish I was still alive.

You have no idea how much I miss you.

 

 

|||||||||||||||

 

Bio:

 

Rich has published four chapbooks of poetry and once hosted poetry slam in Newark, Delaware. Since moving to Albuquerque in March of 2008, Rich has been performing and writing steadily in the Duke City, and is a regular contributor/editor at localpoetsguild.wordpress.com. His poems have appeared inAdobe Walls: An Anthology of New Mexico PoetryBorderline, Brawler, Carnival, Crack the Spine, Extract(s), Fickle Muses, Grey Sparrow Journal, Hypertext, Lyre Lyre, Missive, Neon, Poydras ReviewThe Mas Tequila ReviewThe Yellow Ham and The Legendary. You can hear some of his poems at richboucher.bandcamp.com


“I have seen the face of god and suggested less eye shadow” – Douglas Morea

 

 

That signature quote  is how he signs his emails, love it. I have been watching how to make “anime eyes” and Amanda Palmer eyebrows while laid up. Never did get the hang of make up in high school….

I’m still sick, but will try to make it. If not you must all enjoy the event thoroughly for me, and report back here and on facebook.

Love you all,

 

Lisa Gill

PS> Jessica Helen Lopez will be coming on board with Local Poets Guild soon. More on that later.

