Jules Nyquist Features at East of Edith on Monday, October 31!

More good news on the poetry front! This coming Monday, October 31st, at 7:00 pm, at the Projects 3614 High Street NE is, once again, our open mic night known as  East of Edith. This week you’ll get a chance to hear feature poet Jules Nyquist share her poetry! Now, I know it’s going to be Halloween night, so I’m making a suggestion that folks come in costume. Of course you don’t have to come in costume, but it would be cool if you did! Aaaaaaaaaand let’s just say that the venue is going to look extra spiffy, if you get my drift.

A refresher for you or if you’re new, about the East of Edith Open Mic at the Projects: all poets on the open mic are invited to share two poems, four minute limit (the poets can opt to either read their own work or works by other poets).  The East of Edith Open Mic night has been gathering speed and momentum and I am overjoyed to say that it’s just amazing how this reading has been progressing along. Please come early to get some juice or coffee and some snacks, read, listen, catch an outstanding feature…  and all for whatever you can offer for the hat pass. Which is to say,  pay what you can if you can. Come, enjoy the poetry. So much good poetry, every Monday night, at East of Edith.

Dig it:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jules lives in Albuquerque and is honored to be the featured poet at her favorite open mic.  Here’s a bit about Jules in her own words:  The moment I walked into the Projects and the East of Edith open mic, I was warmly welcomed. I had only been here a month and knew about three people, total, and the poets I saw on stage with their words and the words of other poets affected me immensely. I knew I had to keep coming back and I have, almost every week.  These poets are my dear friends, my comrades, and are so very supportive of everything I have read and performed for them.  Every week I discover new writer’s works that they share and the energy here is just amazing. The space is, too.  It truly is a group of troubadours spreading the word of poetry.

As for my background, I have an MFA in Writing and Literature (Poetry) from Bennington College, Vermont and my BA in Writing from Metro State University in St. Paul, Minnesota.  I didn’t start college until 20 years out of high school, have an arm’s length of jobs and careers on my resume and my first love has always been poetry.  I started writing poetry in my room in high school with the encouragement of a patient English teacher and I haven’t stopped writing since.  I like to experiment with form and my favorite is the sestina, along with an occasional villanelle.  My latest poetry manuscript is looking for a publisher, and my poems have been published in various journals including Adobe Walls, Malpais Review, Duke City Fix, Salamander, and 5 AM.  I’ve had fun in a couple of “Encyclopedia” Shows and I also like to read along with music and that may happen again tonight. I’ll be sharing some favorites from my chapbook “Appetites” and also some new ones.

I thank the Burque poetry community for the warm welcome and look forward to blending my poetry energy with all of yours on the open mic.  If you want to keep up with me and my poems, my website is www.julesnyquist.com

***

The East of Edith Poetry Open Mic takes place every Monday night at the Projects, 3614 High Street NE. Sign-up to read between 6:30 and 6:50 pm.

Hope to see you all on Monday night!

-Rich Boucher

