Cathy Arellano Features at East of Edith on Monday, Oct. 24th!

This coming Monday, October 24th, at 7:00 pm, at the Projects 3614 High Street NE is, once again, our open mic night known as  East of Edith. This week you’ll get a chance to hear Cathy Arellano share her poetry!

A little reminder for ya, about East of Edith: each person on the open mic is invited to share two poems, four minute limit (the poets can opt to either read their own work or works by other poets).  The East of Edith Open Mic night has been gathering speed and momentum and I am overjoyed to say that it’s just amazing, how this reading has been progressing along. Please come early to get coffee and snacks, read, listen, catch an outstanding feature…  and all for whatever you can put into the hat. Which is to say,  pay what you can if you can. Come, enjoy the poetry. There’s good poetry happening at East of Edith.

***

Here’s a little bit about Cathy, from Cathy herself:

Poems and stories about home—my family in San Francisco’s Mission district —fill my upcoming chapbook, Salvation on 24th Street, that will be published by University of Notre Dame’s Momotombo Press in the next month; my first chapbook (I Love My Women, Sometimes They Love Me) is full of broken-hearted lesbian love poems. I have work published in many different grassroots anthologies, journals, and newsletters.

I teach Developmental English full-time at Central New Mexico Community College, and this semester I’m teaching a creative writing course in Chicano Hispano Mexicano Studies at the University of New Mexico. In the spring, I’ll be leading creative workshops at El Chante Casa de Cultura, National Hispanic Cultural Center, and UNM.

I’m excited that Lisa Gill asked me to join East of Edith’s planning committee, and I thank Burque’s vibrant writing community for helping me to revive my writing.

***

The East of Edith Poetry Open Mic takes place every Monday night at the Projects, 3614 High Street NE. Sign-up to read between 6:30 and 6:50 pm.

Hope to see you all on Monday night!

-Rich Boucher

