The Beat of a Different Trumm

 

 

 

 

 

So, I’m going to be hosting the East of Edith open mic this coming Monday, September 5th, and I am absolutely ready to leap out of my chair and rocket into the night sky; I’m so charged up for it! As you may have read earlier, if you’ve been keeping up, Albuquerque poet Aaron Trumm and his band are going to be the featured poet (yes, I intentionally phrased it that way) on the 5th. I recently paid a visit to Aaron’s practice space to get myself a little sneak preview of what he and his band are going to be bringing to the table, and I can honestly tell you all that you should prepare yourselves for a good, solid, intense FLOORING. And I don’t mean this kind of flooring, either.

It was a total pleasure to meet the band:

Aaron Trumm – lead vocals, piano/keys
Nathan Menhorn – drums
Mike “Dr. Thunda” Clifford – bass
Shanti Thomas – guitar

This line-up, Aaron informed me, has been “slowly working up stuff for about six months – this Monday will be our first gig as a config”, but you will find that very hard to believe when you hear what Aaron and Co. have put together. I would attempt to describe the sound/artform/genre for you, based upon what I heard at the rehearsal, but I feel it would be an insane thing to do, since what I heard is comprised of so many diverse influences and musical/poetic schools of thought. Brace yourselves, is what I really want to say.

I’d also like to ask for your help this Monday night. We (Lisa and I and all of the other guest hosts) are trying to streamline and smooth out the running of the open mic, and, in furtherance of that, I want to ask that if you are planning on coming out to the reading and you have an announcement you would like to make, please either bring it with you written out so that I can announce it at the beginning of the show (we’re looking to have all the announcements made at the very beginning of the show) or you can email me any announcement that you would like me to make at my email, which is rabbitinvasion (at) gmail (dot) com. It would really be a huge help to the EofE reading’s flow. And I don’t mean this kind of flow, either.

So, to reiterate:

– I like Black Raspberry ice cream

Aaron Trumm and his awesome band are going to be the featured poet

– Please bring any announcements with you, so that I can get them all to the mic before we kick off the night

When? This Monday night, September 5, 2011 at 7 pm

Where? the Projects, 3614 High Street NE, Albuquerque, New Mexico

I hope to see you all there!

– Rich Boucher

