Sari Krosinsky June 9th: How Fragments Create Echoes

Sari Krosinky says, “My poems most often start as fragments–as images or ideas or words come to me, I write them in a poetry journal I carry around. The fragments come both from random things that strike me and from whatever I’m obsessing about at the moment–most often something to do with death and/or relationships. When I’ve collected enough fragments, I start picking through them, cluster the ones that seem like they fit together, build on the individual pieces and draw out connections between them. I don’t really think about craft or what I’m trying to do in a poem until it’s done. Then I hope the poem communicates something that others will find either echoes their own experience or shows them a new perspective. But ultimately I just write whatever I feel driven to write. ”

And one of her poems:

Hunger

I cook like my grandmother, whipping up a badass stew

from spare parts. Hers, variations on leached chicken

swimming in grease. Mine, resurrecting potatoes-on-the-edge

with a couple cans green chilé. I mince garlic as you read

to me, baritone against the percussion of popping oil.

Looking at you, I reach for the pot, char my finger.

I thrust my hand under the tap; you go on reading

as cold water seals the burn in a scar.

Like my grandmother, I cook to feed armies. She rallied

relatives, friends, strangers to divide the booty.

I have you. Like her, will I never learn

to cook for one? Or like Orpheus, would I follow you

to Hades and, failing, survive still? When you’re gone,

I’ll play your cd, seal my hunger in your voice.

You can hear Sari Krosinsky read at Triptych this Thursday at 7:00 pm at the Projects (3614 High Street NE, through the garage doors, North of Candelaria and East of Edith.) She’ll be featured alongside Sarah McKinstry-Brown and Jasmine Cuffee.

I’m really looking forward to this night!

lg

